A Foodie Post For the Lazy Mom!

Hello mommas!

I have been seeing a lot of posts recently asking for peoples’ favorite recipes.  Well, I have finally had a chance to actually attempt a few of the thousand food posts I have on Pinterest and I thought I would share.

Anyone who knows me knows I love a quick and easy crock pot meal! Given the fact that I only ever have a total of about 17 minutes a day to prepare anything before Nugget realizes that I have food that he is not eating, being able to throw everything in the slow cooker in the morning makes life so much better!  I have found a few meals that have now made their way into my regular rotation and wanted to send them your way – because if you’re anything like me, wading through the hundreds of online recipes can seem daunting.  I have also included a couple non slow cooker meals that I just really enjoyed! So here’s my favorites. Enjoy!

1. MEATLOAF

YES – meatloaf in the crock pot!!!  And the best meatloaf I have ever had!  I am super picky about meatloaf – either I love it or I hate it, there is no in between.  The first time I made this I actually used buffalo, but on a cheaper budget it’s just as amazing with ground beef!

http://www.melissasbargains.com/slow-cooker-mondays-melt-in-your-mouth-meatloaf/

meatloaf

2. HONEY GARLIC CHICKEN

You definitely need to LOVE garlic for this one! One suggestion – use some super thick chicken thighs. I used breasts one time because that’s all I had in the fridge and it was a little overloaded with flavor.  Also, I would suggest serving it with a starch – rice or pasta works great!

Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken

3. FIESTA CHICKEN AND RICE BOWLS

These are wonderful, and can be made with substitutions like Greek yogurt to make them healthier.  However, in my house we like all the fat and love some sour cream – HAHA!

Light Crock Pot Fiesta Chicken & Rice Bowls

 

 

**NON SLOW COOKER MEALS**

 

4. CHIPOTLE BLACK BEAN AND CORN STUFFED PEPPERS – this one requires a little more work, but totally worth it!

This one surprised both me and my husband.  We are some meat lovers but these vegetarian peppers WILL be made again and again!  I added some mushrooms in the mix to give it some meaty texture.  Also, if you don’t like spice, be cautious with the chilies and the adobo sauce – they can pack a serious punch!

Chipotle Black Bean & Corn Stuffed Peppers

 

5. FRITO TACO PIE

This is the gem of quick, simple recipes.  If there is anything that will be eaten in my house (and I always keep the ingredients on hand) it is spaghetti and tacos.  Well this puts a wonderful spin on taco salad and Frito pie!  Plus it takes a whopping 10 minutes to brown the meat and put everything together!

Frito Taco Pie With A Crescent Dough Crust

 

 

I hope you mommas can find something you enjoy in my list.  If not, feel free to let me know – I’ll continue sharing my finds over time.  Also, let me know your favorites.  I’m always looking for new things to try!

*SIDE NOTE* – These all pair wonderfully with wine!

Cheers mommas,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

