Sleep Training?!?!

CALLING ALL MOMMAS!

I learn something new about babies everyday – and I was already beyond confused to begin with!!  Any advice on sleep training??  Let me know what has worked for you!

I’m not  against crying it out so I think we will start with the Ferber method.  I’m thinking the “fading” method may be a good alternative too.

I know Nugget can’t be hungry ALL the time!!! I have read that bigger babies should have easier times sleeping through the night, and he did at one point.  Recently he’s gone from sleeping 12 hours to waking up every 3 or 4.  I’m having a hell of a time trying to distinguish between hunger/habit/sleep regression/etc.  Why is mommy-hood just a giant guessing game?  Where is the freaking manual??

Nap time is a huge mess too, recently.  IF I can get him to nap it lasts anywhere between 20 minutes to 1 hour.  (Except now of course because he decided 3 am – 5:30 am this morning was a good time to be wide awake!)

Needless to say, I’ve had a headache all week and would desperately love some ZZZzzz’s!  Luckily my husband has a pretty good work schedule this week and will be around to help starting this afternoon!! I may just pass off the baby and run away for a while (and by run away I mean drive down the street and sleep in my car!)

Help a momma out ladies!

Cheers mommas,

Kristen

2 thoughts on “Sleep Training?!?!

  1. Hey Kristen!
    Yes, I have had that moment when your baby realizes he/she has control over you by crying every single hour. We went through the same thing with Maitlyn when she had relapses in her sleeping routine. I hear they are called Wonder Weeks. I did the cry out method because I knew she was fed, changed, comforted and had lots of attention before bedtime and she was fine. I basically mustered up the patience and put her in her crib and give her love and left the room. Of course, she cried and cried for 45 minutes. She would stop and then cry again and finally wore herself out and then fell asleep. The next night we followed the same routine and she cried for 30 minutes and stopped and cried again for a smaller span and then fell asleep. Each night thereafter she cried less and less. It’s hard to watch them cry so hard on the monitor, but you know deep inside that they are okay. If it makes you feel better, give him a small dose of Tylenol if he is teething. Hang in there! We have had some random weeks where Maitlyn would wake up crying for no reason and that’s okay to go in and cuddle with them, but not for long because they will just draw you back into their control. 🙂 Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

