Holi-daze!

Not that I didn’t love the holiday season with my Nugget man, but I feel that having a baby at the end of September (i.e. the beginning of holiday madness) is kind of like running at a dead sprint into the lion’s den.  Luckily Halloween is not the most family oriented holiday so that was a good place to start.  We took the extreme 3 mile drive to my brother’s house to pick up my sister-in-law and my niece for a day of trick-or-treating at the mall since the weather was suppose to be not so great that night.  Of course you want to celebrate your little one’s first holiday so you do costumes and everything…only for him to sleep in the stroller the ENTIRE time you’re wandering around in the rain begging strangers for candy!  At least my niece was totes adorbs and got lots of goodies for me to steal later! (Excuse the creeper smile – she’s a strange one when you pull the camera out haha!)

Thanksgiving, as always, means family, family, family.  After having split holidays for a few years between my family and my husband’s family we recently decided to begin our own traditions with our Nugget man.  I did load up with my brother and sister-in-law the day before Thanksgiving and make the drive to my grandmother’s house to see family.  I knew that some family would be there that didn’t necessarily live close enough to visit often and would enjoy seeing Elliott.  We also raided my mother’s storage unit for all of our childhood Christmas crap…most of which ended up in the trash anyways HAHA.
After returning home, we prepared for our new thanksgiving traditions the next day. I, along with half the state of Alabama, braved the grocery store on thanksgiving eve. Luckily I was not there for your typical turkey, mashed potatoes, and stuffing. Nope, I bought the stuff to make deer meat enchiladas! After stuffing our faces, watching football, and shot gunning a few beers (because we think we can still drink like we did in college) my brother and my husband passed out on the couches and my sister-in-law and I dredged through the Christmas boxes. Overall, a raging success in my book! I love starting new traditions and fun memories.
image
Christmas, as I’m sure is with most families, was a whirlwind of family, food, wrapping paper and ribbons! The day started at my in law’s house. As always, there was more than enough wonderful food! Then, presents…I never thought I could enjoy opening someone else’s gifts more than my own. Don’t get me wrong, I love presents as much as any kid, but I enjoy giving gifts more. That is, until I had Nugget! Even at only 3 months old, it was beyond entertaining to watch him take everything in. My husband and I only got him some clothes (I know, parents of the year!), but this kid cleaned up! We have toys for years to come. After all the paper quit flying and the family pictures were taken, we headed to my brother’s house for Christmas with the other side of the family. Once again, watching Nugget and my niece, Lana, with their gifts was fabulous! Grandparents always seem to find the best gifts – some of these toys now a days are beyond me lol.
image

By the time the new year rolled in I was simply in shock that Nugget’s first holiday season was already over. I remember the month of August being like 8535 days long during the last month of my pregnancy, and then the last 3 months were only like 5 minutes long. I enjoy watching this messy Nugget grow….just not so fast!
Cheers, mommas!
Kristen

Leave a Reply

