Cheers!

Hello moms (and dads)!  My name is Kristen and I have created this blog for many reasons…mainly for first time parents to be assured that you are not alone! As I was putting my little one to bed tonight I was thinking about all the wild and crazy things that have happened in my life over the last 5 months – since I became a mom.  I laughed to myself at some of the memories, issues, and problems yet to come and thought surely I am not the only one who has felt this way.  So here I am, telling my stories that, hopefully, you can relate too; or at least get a good laugh at.  Fair warning – I am not here to censor myself or my life.  Life can be beautiful, charming, magical and fun.  Life can also be cruel, dirty, hard and ugly.  If I offend you, put on your big girl panties and deal with it.  I am choosing this as my outlet to vent and brag as I so choose. No judging, no bashing! I don’t really know where it’s going to take me, so pour yourself a glass of “mommy juice,” and let us proceed with caution. After all, we are all playing a guessing game in parent world, and just trying to keep our shit together!

First, a little about me.  I am a first time mom to a beautiful baby boy named Elliott  (fondly referred to as Nugget).  I have been married to my husband Jeff for almost three years.  I graduated from the University of Alabama with a degree in Criminal Justice.  I left college as every graduate does, with big dreams, stars in my eyes, hopes to create a better future and, of course, a whopping amount of debt. After deciding that we could take on the world together, my husband and I moved south for a year. We worked to get by, but we were happy.  After a year on our own we had some beautiful news – a baby was on it’s way whether we liked it or not (f.y.i., we LOVED it!)  So what did we do? We tucked tail and moved back home to be closer to family for support.  Shortly after moving back, my husband got promoted at work, giving me the luxury of being a stay at home mom!  Boy was I in for the ride of my life!

I started motherhood almost as I had graduated college, starry eyed and full of hope. Well, needless to say that did not last long.  I never knew something so small could have so much power!! After all the family visits and the traffic of Grand Central Station coming through my house had subsided, my husband and I were left to fend for ourselves. And of course, as soon as we thought we were figuring things out, he too went back to work.  I was confident that I could do this whole ‘mom’ thing! HAHA – silly me…after only a couple days, Nugget was running the show!  Some days I am simply excited that we have both managed to eat and stay alive; others, I find it a miracle that I have not yet gone completely off the deep end.

Since the idea of starting a blog, like everything else in life, hit me a little late, I would like to share stories of the last few months.  However, I know you don’t want to sit and read all that mess at one time. Hell, I don’t want to write it all right now!  I just ask that you bare with me and stick around for a few days until I can figure all this stuff out.  Like I said, I am just looking for some way to relate to other moms.  Let’s share our embarrassing moments, tell on our spouses (and ourselves) and watch the little dirty, messy, beautiful, miracles we created grow and learn!

Cheers, mommas!

Kristen

 

 

Leave a Reply

